Kuddos Dr. Burton

For my last blog post, I would love to give a shout out to Dr. Burton, professor of Social Media Marketing here at High Point University. Exploring the Red Bull Brand throughout this semester has certainly allowed me to evolve in my research and understanding of how vital social media is to . . . the world! Thank you for teaching our class the importance of building our personal brand; my skepticism of social media lightened over the course of the semester because of your insightful lectures on how social media in the future is a definite; therefore, take advantage of the platforms it provides. I speak on behalf of everyone when I say that your enthusiasm for marketing is contagious! Entering the class, I had developed a negative sentiment toward social media and the busy, never satisfying roll it tends to play in people’s minds / hearts. Now, that I have a clearer picture of its importance in community + business + storytelling, etc., I have a refreshed viewpoint! So thank you Dr. Burton for our weekly assignments, enabling us to take our knowledge into the workplace and for your inspiration for building one’s personal brand!

One thought on “Kuddos Dr. Burton

  1. jenburtonhpu

    Thank you for your kind words, Taylor. I read something interesting about blogging/diaries this week. A colleague of mine teaches a course on creativity and happiness. A basic premise of the course is that people are not happy because they spend too much time fretting about the past and worrying about the future. He says the key to happiness is living in the present moment. He has students write daily diaries/blogs over the course of the semester. He says this forces students to focus on their present state of mind and emotions. Scientific studies have shown that this process actually improves happiness! So, the more you blog – the happier you will be in life! Here is a blog about it (although it is kind of long): http://www.clicksbyuma.com/2015/04/22/happy-smarts/.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment